Total Hours Required: 56
Elective Hours: 35
Mandatory Hours: 21
License Renewal Period: 4 years
Other Licensing Requirements
California Appraisers are required to take 56 continuing education hours every 4 years including 14 hours of the National USPAP refresher course (the 7-hour USPAP Update course required every 2 years). California Appraisers must also complete 4 hours of California Law every 4 years.
A new requirement for all California appraisers: Completion of a 3 hour course in Cultural Competency and the Elimination of Bias.
CA has no limits on the number of hours that may be taken online.
State Reporting of CE Credit
The education provider is NOT required to report completed continuing education credit to the BREA
State Contact Information
California Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers
1102 Q Street, Suite 4100
Sacramento, CA 95811
Note: This information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It is the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting state board requirements.